St. Joseph R.C. Church
The St. Joseph Roman Catholic Church was built on exactly the same site as the old edifice from Spanish times with the financial assistance of English Governor of Trinidad, Sir Ralph Woodford who was determined to build up the necessary infrastructure that was lacking in the islands – roads, public buildings, churches and so on. The governor contributed corresponding amounts to the money people raised for the church.
The architecture of the church would be considered simple gothic revival with buttresses and large lancet windows. The existing façade has retained most of the character of the original 1815 building. The original steeple was removed in 1947 having become unsafe and was taken down with the clock. The condition of the Church is considered to be fair, given the regular upgrading and restoration by the different pastors. Within the church is a Gothic alter which is engraved with several scenes each depicting an event crucial to the doctrines of Christianity, stained windows which were installed in 1900, the High Altar imported from Dublin made of fourteen types of Italian marble, a choir loft and many other fascinating features.
The St. Joseph RC Church is famous for its cemetery which boasts the oldest grave stone in Trinidad. The site falls under the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Port of Spain.
Property of interest located in the town of St. Joseph and situated within a parcel of land comprising 1.4352 hectares, bounded on the north by King Street, on the south and east by lands belonging to the Roman Catholic Archbishop of Port of Spain and on the west by Abercromby Street.
Address: Corner Abercromby and King Streets
Town/City: St. Joseph
Region: Tunapuna – Piarco
Site Type: Cultural Heritage
Public Accessibility: Limited Access
Cultural Community: Spanish
Site Features: Places of Worship, Tombs & Burial Grounds
Corner Abercromby and King Streets, St. Joseph, Tunapuna – Piarco